An Interview with Cody “Hotsforshots” Jeffrys Pro-Gamer

2bnslg

There I sat, in Twitter land, Direct Message harassing one of the many awesome people that I follow. Trading wisecracks, as I’m prone to do, when an idea I’ve had long simmering in my head comes screaming to the forefront:
“Hey, friend! Would you be interested in being interviewed for my blog?” Poor guy never knew what he was getting into, he said “Sure.”!

So begins my inaugural foray into interviewing and article writing. May I present, my amazing guinea pig: Cody aka “Hotsforshots“! An amazingly good sport, I might add!

So, could you tell us a little about yourself?
“My name is Cody. I’m 25. I served 6 years in the army, and 1 year in Afghanistan. I go by ‘Hotsforshots‘ (‘Hots‘ for short), and have for around 4 years now.”

We’re curious to know: could you tell us about what game(s) you play professionally?
Overwatch

What character/role do you play?
“I played support, mainly Lucio.”

What team(s) do you currently or have previously play(ed) for?
Colorado Clutch

How long have you been playing this particular game?
“I played it [Overwatch] from December 2015 till June 2016 professionally.”

How long have you been gaming?
“I’ve been gaming since I can remember. Started off with the NES [Nintendo Entertainment System].”

How long have you been gaming professionally?
“I only played Overwatch professionally, so around 6-7 months.”

How did you get started gaming professionally?
“I stopped playing any other game and dedicated every waking second I could to get good enough, and eventually found a team randomly.”

How did you get started gaming in general?
“My family had a gaming system and I was instantly hooked.”

Are you currently sponsored/whom are you sponsored by?
“I’m not currently sponsored.”

Where do you see your personal/professional gaming in the future?
“I would like to get into professional gaming again in the future, but it’s probably going to be in a different aspect. Like coaching, managing, or something along those lines.”

Is it really all about Tracer’s Booty?
“I’m more of a Widowmaker’s booty kinda guy.”

Do you have any other hobbies/interests?
“I’m pretty much just an overall nerd. I enjoy Anime, Gaming and all of that.”

What would you like people to know about your gaming style?
“I’m one of those people that if someone is doing it better then me, I will dedicate everything I can to beat them. If there isn’t, then I will find a way to improve myself so someone can’t beat me.”

What gaming gear [rig] do you use? (specs/etc)
“Corsair Vengence and a Razer naga, for FPS I use a logitech g502.”

What other games do you play/enjoy non-professionally?
“WoW, Smite, d3 (very occasionally).” [World of Warcraft, Diablo III]

What is your all-time favorite game?
“Definitely WoW.” [World of Warcraft]

What is your favorite gaming platform?
“PC? Hello?”

How do you prepare for a game? (mentally/physically/psychologically)
“I usually get ready by making sure that I’ve eaten, have plenty of drink. Sitting down going over strats in my head while warming up my aim in the training room, and run a few quick matches to get the mind juices going and pumping myself up.”

Do you have any pointers/tips on how others can get started on a pro/semi-pro gaming career?
“Dedicate every single thing you can to make sure that you’re good enough to catch people’s eyes. Get a hold of people that are already pros, and find the place where people go to find teams and other pros hang out.”

How can people follow/contact you for more information?
“Pretty much everything is hotsforshots. Twitch, Twitter, Facebook and so on.”

So, now that we have learned some basic information from “Hotsforshots” himself, I’d like to take a moment and give my impressions of this amazing gentleman.
He is very goal-oriented, he gives all of himself to every thing that he does. He does it all with a smile and a joke, and he is a genuinely friendly person that I am so very glad to know.

Though “Hots” almost always has something or another going on, he always takes the time to interact with his “followers” and his “fans”; however, I’m of the impression he thinks of them more as “friends” or “buddies”. I have never seen him act as though talking to someone was an inconvenience. This speaks volumes to his character, and his easy-going personality.

Some may know “Hotsforshots” from his countless appearances on the weekly PWNCAST Podcast, as one of the many talented co-hosts. Where he has been an endlessly entertaining, and informative part of the team dynamic.

Some may know him from his triumphs as a Mythic Raiding impresario. Others may simply know him by name, but be sure his is a name I am confident you’ll be hearing a lot more of in the future.

Hotsforshots” has gaming in his heart, and he truly loves it. He invests the time to become not just proficient, but to excel at everything he does.

I could try to write this as an impartial observer, but the truth is: I’m a fan of his, and I’m a fan of gaming. I enjoy bringing this other facet of gamers to you all.

A very BIG thank you to Cody aka “Hotsforshots“, for taking time out of his day to answer some questions for us. I hope he knows that he is welcome back to this little blog anytime!

I’d also like to take a moment to thank Cody/”Hots” for his service to his country. Thank you, sir.

Thanks to my readers! Without you, this would just be me talking to myself!

Take care dearies! Until next time. This is “WoahLock” – The Fan Girl, signing off!

WoahLock on Twitter

Hotsforshots on Twitter

PWNCAST on Twitter

PWNCAST on YouTube

Leave a Reply

