Don’t Use Suicide For Attention: Suicide Awareness Is Serious

depression-new-625_625x350_41455702847
stock image found on a depression awareness website: no copyrights knowingly infringed upon

I am aware how callous I am about to come across as with this post, but I feel the frustration bubbling up inside of me and I know the only way to work through it is to put it down in words.

I am tremendously fed up with people posting on social media their desire to commit suicide. Now, I am not referring to the trend of people using YouTube or Facebook Live to record their goodbyes/reasons, that is an entirely different situation. And it is utterly heart-breaking in itself, but that is not what I am here to talk about right now.

I am talking about the people that every time their lives suck (which I don’t deny that they can and do), they go on social media and proclaim that if so and so or such and such doesn’t change, they are going to end it all. And then days or weeks later, they repeat the process.

At first your reaction, much like mine, would be to reassure them how much they are cared for, how much they would be missed, and how that is never the answer. Then you slowly begin to realize, when it’s happening over and over and over again, it’s not a cry for help, it’s a plea for attention by using one of the most extreme shock factors a person can use.

It angers me so deeply because there are so many people in this world that have lives that are truly horrible, but still wake up each day, and drag themselves through it. They endure it because suicide is not an option as far as they are concerned. I, myself, am one of those people.

Then, there are the countless others that have tried so very hard to endure whatever it is in their life that is dragging them down into the muck and mire, and then decide that suicide is their only way out. Their only path to peace. While their decision to do so is tragic, I feel like what they went through and the decisions they made should not be brushed aside so nonchalantly as to use it as a means for attention, or for pity.

Everyone is this world has struggles they wrestle with every day, inner demons they fight tooth and nail to keep contained. No matter how well a person seems to be doing on the outside, you have no idea what is going on inside their minds, hearts, souls, or home lives.

There is not a single person on the face of this planet that does not have some sort of burden to bear, it’s just not all of us choose to advertise our problems, or air our dirty laundry via social media.

If a person is genuinely in a place where they are seriously considering suicide, I ask that you please consider the impact on the world you leave behind. All too often people believe the world would be better off without them, or that they would not be missed, and that simply is not the case.

We, as humans, make mistakes and take things and people for granted. We don’t show or tell those we care for how much they mean to us when they are here because we have a bad tendency of assuming they already know. No. People need to hear that they are loved. That they matter. That there would be a gaping void without them that could never be filled.

When you leave this world by your own hand, you leave a scar that never truly heals. The family and friends you thought didn’t care about you, spend the rest of their lives wondering what they could’ve done different that might’ve saved you. They beat themselves up for not noticing the warning signs. They wonder if every little thing was a warning sign, and they misread it because they were too caught up in their own world and their own bullshit. They take that pain with them everywhere they go, for the rest of their days.

Essentially, the pain you felt in life, you end up inflicting on your loved ones with taking your own life.

I urge anyone with feelings of worthlessness, or feelings of suicide being the answer to go and talk to someone. Call a suicide hotline, talk to someone anonymously. They cannot give you advice, by law, but they can listen  to you. They can provide you with resources in your area, like someone to talk to. One on one, or groups. Grief counseling, depression counseling, the lists go on and on.

If you need someone to talk to but are too afraid to contact a counselor, send me a direct message on my “Contact” page. I will talk to you. I can’t offer you advice, but I can be an ear if you need one. Or a shoulder to cry on if you need one of those too.

There are so many people in this world that care about you, whether you realize it or not. You may think you are not loved, but I love you as one human being to another. I have been in the same pain you’re in. I have tried to commit suicide 3 times in my life, and luckily I survived every attempt. Perhaps, so I could be here today to help someone else. Even if I help one person to rethink their situation, then I will be ecstatic until the natural end of my days.

All links tested by me, 100% safe. No trojans, malware, that I could find.
Written by Autumn “WoahLock”™ J.H. © 2017
Leave a Reply

